Non-Book Reviews/Talks

Finding Neverland (the musical)

Okay so obviously this isn’t a book review, but I figured it’s based (somewhat) on the origins of one of my favorite books so that means I can fangirl about it on my blog right? Not to mention I’ve been rereading favorite books of mine this past week, so I don’t have any new reviews to share with you all (sorry I’m lame!)

For Christmas my dad bought tickets for our family to go see the play Finding Neverland. Which, for me especially, was AMAZING because Peter Pan is one of my absolute favorite stories. Neverland is my happy place, my go-to adventure, my dream world. Finding Neverland is the story of J.M. Barrie and the family that inspired him to create Peter Pan in the first place.

The musical was magical. My aunt and uncle didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as my sister and I, which I say has to do with the fact that they aren’t really kid-oriented people. And Peter Pan, in any form really, is about childhood.

The music was sweet and innocent and catchy. We bought the soundtrack and I am definitely listening to it as I type this post! The acting was great too. I will be the first to admit that I can’t act for anything, so I am really no judge of acting chops. But it was undeniably entertaining, the actors succeeded in making the whole audience laugh, cry, and feel which is honestly the most important thing to me. I was especially impressed after learning that four of the boys in the cast play multiple characters. For example, one boy can play Peter, John, or Michael on any given night. I mean, can you imagine? Memorizing all those lines and where to stand and all the intricacies of knowing your character? I certainly can’t.

And ohmysweetgoodness they did two super sweet things with the audience and I loved it so much. They asked all the kids in the audience to wave at one point and it was just so cute to see them get so excited. And for anyone else that knows about the original Peter Pan, hopefully you’ll understand my immense excitement when THEY DID THE THING TO SAVE TINKERBELL AND THE WHOLE AUDIENCE PARTICIPATED!!! For those that don’t know, in the original play, when Tinkerbell’s light is going out, Peter says she can get better if more people believed in fairies. Then he would look to the audience and ask them to clap if they believed. AND I GOT TO PARTICIPATE I WAS SO EXCITED. Okay. I’m done now.

I just really love Peter Pan and I loved the Finding Neverland movie, so seeing my loves turned into another wonderful form of entertainment made me so happy.

(Insert pause so I can listen to one of my favorite songs on the soundtrack)

Seriously though, this play was wonderful and I just wanted to gush about it a bit. Also I wanted to post something and apologize for not having any new reviews on books. I will say, though, that Peter Pan is a great book if you ever want to read it. It’s definitely a bit of a shock to learn what Peter was originally like before Disney got ahold of him!

If you get a chance to see the musical or even just listen to the album, I encourage you to do so! It is so much fun.

Leave a Reply

