Feminism · Nonfiction · Poetry

The Princess Saves Herself in this One

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

(Goodreads)

Genre: Poetry/Feminism/Nonfiction

Pages: 156

Rating: 5/5 Stars

First Line (this is the dedication but whatever): “For the boy who lived.”

I don’t think I’ve shared on this blog yet that I absolutely love poetry. In high school, I was a part of a spoken word poetry club that played a huge role in fostering that love. Spoken word has always been my go-to form of poetry, but when I saw this book in one of my favorite bookstores, it drew me in instantly.

This is a poetry book. But it isn’t just random poems–they’re in a sequence that makes sense as a story. Amanda Lovelace writes openly and honestly about life, love, pain, and hope. There is so much to love about this book and the poems it holds, from the unexpected Harry Potter references to the inspiration to love yourself. I loved the way Lovelace wrote about reading. I loved the way she wrote about death and all the emotions that go with it. I love the way she wrote about family.

Most of the poems in this book I could not relate to on a literal level. But the magical, wonderful thing about poetry that makes people (me) love it is that you don’t have to relate literally. Sometimes a poem will settle over you like a thick blanket, all warm and fuzzy and pleasantly heavy, and you really don’t know why but it’s so comforting. That is one of the many things I love about poetry. And that is one of the many things I love about this book.

Seriously, if you are at all interested in poetry and want to be inspired, go find this book. It’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

