Non-Book Reviews/Talks

Reading my way through College

So hi! It’s been almost an entire month since I’ve written a book review, which is totally lame, I know. But I have definitely been reading; in fact, I’ve been reading a lot. I’ve been reading comfort books. Meaning books I’ve read multiple times, books that I know like the back of my hand and love like siblings cause they’re literally always there. 

This isn’t a book review. This is kind of an explanation and also kind of a way for me to talk about something that feels weird to talk about and that’s this: college is hard. 

Nobody wants to tell you that. I mean, sure, they tell you the classes are difficult. They tell you teachers care less about whether you show up (which I have not found to be the case, but whatever), they tell you being independent is hard.

But they don’t tell you that sometimes you won’t fall asleep until 5:30 in the morning, even though you’ve been trying for five hours. They don’t tell you what to do when that happens, because it’s not like you can walk out of your room and watch some TV in the living room. (Most of the time) you’re in a dorm room with someone else in the bed across from you, sleeping like a baby.

They don’t tell you sometimes literally all of your friends go home for the weekend and you’re the only one sitting alone in your room, binge-watching glee while marathon reading books you’ve read a bajillion times.

When these things happen, I go to the things that bring me comfort. And those are the books I know and love. So…yeah, I’ve been reading a lot of books that I don’t think it’s fair of me to review here, because the review would no longer be an honest first impression. It would be me gushing about how lovely and wonderful and amazing these characters are and how the plot line is so familiar to me now it feels like my own life sometimes.

I’m not writing this to be sad. I flipping love college most of the time. I love that I get to take classes I’m interested in, that I get to live right next door to my friends, that I can wander around campus and feel decently safe. I love meal plans (even though the food is gross sometimes!) because I can basically eat as much as I want without worrying about the cost. Even though that’s probably a bad idea. I love that it feels extra special when I get to see my family and hug my dogs and play with the kids I babysit. I love being able to figure adult life out without really being alone in it yet. But I think it’s important to talk about the sucky parts of college too. Because I went in pretty much completely unprepared. And even when people do experience these things, it feels taboo to talk about them.

So I’m gonna talk about them. Because I hope that some other person out there will find this and not feel so alone in the fact that they’re struggling through their first year of college or through high school or through a sucky job. I think it’s important to find things that get us through the hard days. For me, those things are the fact that I can text my mom at any time of the day and she’ll respond within an hour, my sister’s goofy snapchats, my dad’s constant assurances that he doesn’t mind coming to get me on the weekends, and the comfort books I brought with me to college.

So yeah that’s why I haven’t posted a review in a whole month, even though I claim to be a reader. I’m starting a new book (an advanced reader copy, actually) today and it’s set to be released this month so I’m gonna try to get a review up for you guys before it’s released in stores! I’m excited to read something new again!

Do you guys have comfort books that help you through hard days/nights? Or comfort shows? If you want, share them with me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

